How’s the weather there?

We’ve been reading about the weather in central Oklahoma all this week. At first I thought it was much ado about nothing as usual, but as I see photos of traffic accidents and news of people without power, I decided to check it out. I hope everyone is doing fine and staying warm. One good thing about the cold is that it is always so much fun to build a fire. That’s definitely one of my favorite things to do in winter. However, on the way to work this morning, I told Jerry that I was really glad to be here where the weather is always moderate and the flora and fauna are always green and in bloom. I told him if we were in Oklahoma right now, I’d be ready to slit my wrists! After a day or two, I am DONE! Next, depression moves in if I’m not careful. It’s best for me to go south during winter. I am feeling great and so is Jerry.

I want to make a correction regarding my blog on our Antigua adventure. It is not zone 11, which is a perfectly nice zone, that one must avoid. It’s more like zones 1 and 3. It ends up that I freaked out for nothing. We were perfectly safe. Geeeez, you’d think I’d learn the neighborhood already! Of course, this is a very, very large neighborhood!

We had an adventure of sorts last night. A neighbor from our building (whom we met along with his wife in the elevator) stopped by to leave us his card. We invited him in for a glass of wine and he called his wife to come up and join us. Fascinating young man, very wise and full of energy and a source of a wealth of information about all things Guatemala. Jerry mentioned his afternoon visits to Hooter’s and the next thing we knew we were in the car with them in search of the perfect “wings.” It was probably about 7:30pm, and we went to la zona viva and scored some mighty good wings and a beer.

Then we went on a brief tour of the city and it was a blast. We went into several different districts and saw very beautiful places in unexpected locations that only a local would know and we saw very dark places and some things just in between. Our guide took us to the scary zone and it was after dark obviously. I kept thinking….well, he has his young wife with him so surely he won’t take us anywhere that is unsafe. He said that because he didn’t drive a new car and he was a local that he  could really go about anywhere…except…the scary place. This is where he stopped the car and showed us a narrow street and he said, “even the police don’t go in there.” I think this was the place Maria told us about! He told us to not even try to go to any of these places because we are obviously gringo and would stand out like a poster child for “please mug me!” I said to him, no problem there! We were only gone a couple of hours but we saw and learned many new things about this country and I took it all in. Guatemala truly is a study of stark contrasts in every way. 

We are heading to the coast (Pacific) this weekend to spend all day Saturday and Saturday night. I’m really looking forward to it. More beautiful photos are on the way!

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie Adams-Hawkins said,

    January 30, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Lucky you! Oklahoma has me in near catatonic depression. First off it’s my week off and then on Monday Doug fell, knocked himself out and broke his collar bone in three pieces. On a side note, I found a wildlife rehabilition place down there called ARCAS. Do you think you could ask around about it? I e-mailed a guy but would like to know what the locals think. I’d love to go down, see you and volunteer. Sounds like you’re having fun. Love you!

  2. Laura said,

    February 2, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Nice to know some locals. of course they have the inside scoop on all the ‘scary” places, but also on all the goodies. So happy your all settled in. Of course I am still jealous of the weather your having. LOL Got roomfor visitors??? LOL Take care.


Leave a Reply

